Writing to serial port from KMDF driver

I’m trying to write to a serial port from a KMDF driver as a logging mechanism. I’m using the WdfIoxxx APIs as I’m planning to use this same functionality in a minifilter later. My problem is that WdfIoTargetOpen is failing with STATUS_OBJECT_NAME_NOT_FOUND status. I tried all kinds of symbolic links and object names to reference the COM port but the result is the same. Here’s a snippet of how I’m trying to open the port :

DECLARE_CONST_UNICODE_STRING(portName, L"\\Device\\COM4");
        WDF_IO_TARGET_OPEN_PARAMS_INIT_OPEN_BY_NAME(
            &params,
            &portName,
            MAXIMUM_ALLOWED);  
        status = WdfIoTargetOpen(m_ioTarget, &params);

PS: To conform to the rules, I’m a student and this is for an academic project.

!object in the debugger can be very helpful. Does !object \Device\COM4 report that the device exists? Specifically for serial ports, the convention is that the symbolic link name is COMX and it points to \Device\SerialX or something similar. So you would need to open L"\??\COM4" to open via the symbolic link name.

Yeah I also tried that and it failed. Enumerating \Device objects in windbg shows Serial0 and using winobj I could find \Global??\COM4 which is a symlink to \Device\Serial0.

This usually comes down to a typo and getting the double \ just a little bit wrong. What string literal are you using for the symbolic link name?

Theoretically, L"\\DosDevices\\COM4" should also work. Any special name that works at a command prompt should be available in \DosDevices.

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/kernel/introduction-to-ms-dos-device-names