Windows 10: Is the driver returning to the caller before the data transfer is complete, for a user-defined ioctl?

I have deleted my previous post about this topic and have posted a shorter, clearer
version of that topic.

I'm an application software engineer who writes test software for testing SATA HDD
firmware. We use Windows 10 Enterprise systems with a SATA storage port driver that was developed in-house. The person who wrote the driver still works with me, but we haven't been able to figure out this problem.

In short, the tests I write send commands to a SATA HDD, wait for the response and verify if the response is valid or not. The test I'm having a problem with sends 1000s of commands over the course of 3 hours. One command in particular is sent to the HDD 100s of times during this test. Every time that command is sent to the HDD 4-7MB of data is transferred to the host. All of those commands complete successfully except for the last command, which causes a test failure because some of the data transferred is wrong. Oddly enough, we can only duplicate this issue readily on 1 Windows system in a lab which has close to 100 systems. We cannot determine if there is anything unique to this system. It's just another PC from what we can see.

When the last command fails, I can clearly see all of the correct data being transferred to the host, using a SATA protocol analyzer. There is nothing special about this command as it is issued 100s of times prior to the failure, all of which complete successfully.

This appears to be a race condition caused by one of two events.
1: Windows sent the interrupt to our driver before the data transfer actually completed, even though the ioctl returns a value indicating the expected amount of data was transferred.