vgasave

Hi,
I installed a test graphics miniport driver(Not WDDM) on Vista 32 and graphic driver seems to work fine for me, I was able to get calls to my driver and everything seems to work fine. But i see that sleep and hibernate are disabled in my machine. I typed in “powercfg -a” and it says that “One are more legacy driver installed which prevent this standby state:” and I see “VgaSave” below that.

I am new to graphic drivers, so can anybody tell me what could be the issue here.

One more thing i observed is I was deleted VGA.SYS and booted the machine. I was able to get sleep and hibernate with the same test driver.

Can anybody tell me Why this happens and how should I make sure that it works without deleting VGAS files.

Regards,
Sandeep

What kinds of your driver? mirror? virtual display driver or others?
Is it WDDM of your real display driver?

Allen

xxxxx@yahoo.com wrote:

I installed a test graphics miniport driver(Not WDDM) on Vista 32 and graphic driver seems to work fine for me, I was able to get calls to my driver and everything seems to work fine. But i see that sleep and hibernate are disabled in my machine. I typed in “powercfg -a” and it says that “One are more legacy driver installed which prevent this standby state:” and I see “VgaSave” below that.

I am new to graphic drivers, so can anybody tell me what could be the issue here.

Did you write a display driver as well as a miniport, or are you relying
on vgasave?

Tim Roberts, xxxxx@probo.com
Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.

VgaSave miniport never had power management support. So, you cannot standby or hibernate the freshly installed Windows machine until you will install the proper video chip drivers.

Maxim S. Shatskih
Windows DDK MVP
xxxxx@storagecraft.com
http://www.storagecraft.com

wrote in message news:xxxxx@ntdev…
> Hi,