Using PowerShell Scripting to send IOCTLs down to my kernel mode driver

Hi All,

Apologies if this is a duplicate of another thread already discussed.

I am new to PowerShell and wondering if it is possible to write scripts which would run in user mode and send IOCTLs down to my kernel mode driver in Windows OS to retrieve information from the driver? Of course my driver has the capability to identify and handle the IOCTL.

It is basically a step 1 to integrating PowerShell support for my driver.

Any input/suggestion would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Hello!

Of cause. PS is just a generic shell, which allows Commands (called “Cmdlets”) to be implemented. You need to use a managed language (like c#), and P-Invoke to the necessary APIs (CreateFile, DeviceIOControl, CloseHandle, …).

[Tutorials for Writing Cmdlets]
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd878321(VS.85).aspx

BTW: A generic Cmdlets to send any IOCTL to any device would need to operate on the buffer-level, so the user of the Cmdlet would need to build the input-buffer, and interpret the output-buffer on its own, which may be a good test if your parameter-validation code is correct, but will not be of great use!

GP

schrieb im Newsbeitrag news:…
> Hi All,
>
> Apologies if this is a duplicate of another thread already discussed.
>
> I am new to PowerShell and wondering if it is possible to write scripts which would run in user mode and send IOCTLs down to my kernel mode driver in Windows OS to retrieve information from the driver? Of course my driver has the capability to identify and handle the IOCTL.
>
> It is basically a step 1 to integrating PowerShell support for my driver.
>
> Any input/suggestion would be helpful.
>
> Thanks in advance!
>