UMDF - USB I/O for multiple interfaces/EPs

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Windows driver development and I have a question. I’ve been using the fx2_driver example provided with the WinDDK along with a USB device I have to get up and running. So far I’ve been able to install the driver and establish communication between the driver/device and multiple user apps. Previously, we’ve used WinUSB, but need to overcome the limitation of 1 application per device.

I’ve been able to do some Control I/O operations, and I’ve been able to get the target device WinUSB handle to directly use WinUSB functions.

My question is regarding how to address endpoints in different interfaces. I may want application 1 to communicate with EP1 in IF1, and application 2 to communicate with EP2 in IF2.

The UMDF examples seem to have a single input pipe and a single output pipe. When ReadFileEx or WriteFileEx is used, OnRead or OnWrite simply fetch the input or output pipe from the device pointer and do I/O.

With ReadFileEx, there’s just an output buffer pointer and some number of bytes to be read. So, how do you choose to read from a particular endpoint? Is there some ability to use different file handles from the two different applications for different endpoints? Or some other trick?

Thanks,

Don

xxxxx@gmail.com wrote:

I’ve been able to do some Control I/O operations, and I’ve been able to get the target device WinUSB handle to directly use WinUSB functions.

My question is regarding how to address endpoints in different interfaces. I may want application 1 to communicate with EP1 in IF1, and application 2 to communicate with EP2 in IF2.

Are the interfaces otherwise identical? You wouldn’t really need two
interfaces in that case – you can put both endpoints in one interface.
Interfaces are usually used to separate different functions, say one for
audio and one for video.

If you DO need multiple interfaces, you can have a separate WinUSB