strategy for virtual ethernet device

I’m investigating a design for a virtual network device. The device needs to be able to connect a user-mode application to the bottom of the IP stack for both send and receive. This user-mode application exchanges IP packets over a propietary interface to an external source.

I’m very new to driver development, but I’ve spent the last week or so reading NDIS and WDM documentation. Based on my understanding so far, here’s how I think I ought to do it:
Create an NDIS miniport driver who creates a secondary device using NdisRegisterDeviceEx to talk to user-mode.

In MiniportSendNetBufferLists, complete any IRP_READ’s or put the NBL’s into a queue.

Process IRP_WRITE (for the secondary device) by transferring the buffer to a NBL and calling NdisMIndicateReceiveNetBufferLists.

Process IRP_READ by completing it if there are any queued NBL’s, or queue the IRP otherwise.

I know there are lots of other details to consider, but am I on the right track here? A few questions I have at the moment are:

1. thread contexts - Is it OK to call NdisMIndicate… from the IRP_WRITE dispatch routine? Or do I need to put that in a DPC? More generally, do I even need to use DPC’s at all (since I don’t have any interrupts)? I noticed the netvmini sample uses DPC’s even though it doesn’t talk to hardware, but I’m guessing that’s because its showing you how you would.

2. memory management - Do I actually need to copy data from the IRP_WRITE’s to the NBL’s? Or can I set it up to where the ownership of the backing buffers are just transferred from the IRP to the NBL? If not, should I allocate a new NBL for each IRP_WRITE, or pre-allocate and maintain a list of free NBL’s?