Remote debugging setup

This is my first time to debug a kernel driver remotely and I’m stuck. The target is running Vista SP1 (Retail). It is connected to the host (XP SP2) with a 1394 cablle. On the target I have run “bcdedit /dbgsettings 1394 CHANNEL:44” and booted with the “Enable Debugging” option. The “kdbgctrl -e” command reports that debugging is already enabled. On the host side, I launch windbg and select File->Kernel Debug, choose the 1394 tab and specify channel 44. At that point, I get a flurry of messages indicating that Channel 44 is now open and then it hangs with a “waiting to reconnect…” message.

Can someone either spot what I’m missing or point me to another “how-to” source? Do I need a “checked OS” installed on the target?

Welcome.

I think that it’s possible that all you need to do at this point it to (in windbg) either take ‘Break’ from the ‘Debug’ menu or press ‘ctrl-break.’

Until you tell windbg to break in, it will just sit there, unless something exceptional happens on the target.

Although what you’re doing with ‘Enable Debugging’ will work,if you want, you can avoid this step by enabling debugging with bcdedit:

bcdedit /set debug on

You do not need to install the CHK build at this point, and I would personally not recommend installing it at this point. Once you get windbg working, what might me a good idea to look in to is installing a partial CHK build. See the windbg docs for the details, but, again, I’d get windbg working first.

Finally, a small note about terminology. What you’re trying to do with windbg really is not ‘remote’