Question about blocking in dispatch functions

I am a newbie in driver development. Currently, I attempt to implement a keyboard filter. My driver will create a device object and attach itself to kbdclass. Everything works fine until I write the dispatch routine for read as the following :

DispatchRead(PDEVICE…) {

IoCopyCurrentIrpStackLocationToNext( Irp );

KeInitializeEvent( &event, NotificationEvent, FALSE );

IoSetCompletionRoutine( Irp, MyCompletionRoutine,
reinterpret_cast(&event),
TRUE,
TRUE,
TRUE
);

Irp->IoStatus.Information = 0;

ntStatus = IoCallDriver( deviceExtension->LowerDeviceObject, Irp );

if (STATUS_PENDING == ntStatus)
{
KeWaitForSingleObject( &event, Eecutive,KernelMode, FALSE, NULL );

ntStatus = Irp->IoStatus.Status;
}

if (NT_SUCCESS(ntStatus))
{
// key processing logic
}

Irp->IoStatus.Status = ntStatus;
IoCompleteRequest( Irp, IO_NO_INCREMENT );

return ntStatus;
}

MyCompletionRoutine(…) {
event = reinterpret_cast(Context);
KeSetEvent( event, 0, FALSE );

if (Irp->PendingReturned)
IoMarkIrpPending( Irp );

return STATUS_MORE_PROCESSING_REQUIRED;
}

After loading the driver, the mouse can be moved. But once a key is pressed, the computer is hung. I can use VNC to connect to the computer and power off it. It seems that the input thread is suspended.

Then I placed the following assertion at the start of the function:
PAGED_CODE();
ASSERT( PsGetCurrentThread() == Irp->Tail.Overlay.Thread );
There is no bug check. Therefore I am sure that my driver is at the topmost driver stack and appropriate IRQL for blocking.

As the last resort, I move the processing logic to the completion routine and remove the block in the dispatch routine. The problem is solved.

My questions are:
1. Why the blocked version hang-up the input thread of the system ?
The lower driver will eventually complete my request and signal my event, the function can resume its execution.
2. Does blocking only apply for DriverEntry, AddDevice, PNP and USB requests?