Killing a process from a Minifilter Driver

Hello all,
I am a complete beginner in terms of Windows driver development, so requesting a verbose response!
I am trying to write a minifilter driver which can kill the calling process in the pre-write callback routine and hence prevents the write operation.
I tried a few things out but nothing is working.
Here is one of the examples of the same.

HANDLE procs;
ZwOpenProcess(procs,DELETE,0,NULL);
NTSTATUS terminateStatus = ZwTerminateProcess(procs, STATUS_SUCCESS);
ZwClose(procs);

I would appreciate any and every help I can get to achieve this task.
Thank you!

Prevent the write operation based on what? Are you trying to do some kind of bizarre file protection? Surely there are better ways that don’t require kernel mucking.

**Terminating the calling process in kernel mode is A Real Bad IDEA . **

You can prevent a write operation without killing the process. For example you can fail the write operation. Or you could pretend the write operation was successful but not actually write anything.

Anyway, ZwOpenProcess’s first parameter is a pointer to a handle, not a handle. DELETE is not the correct access mask. ‘0’ is not a valid OBJECT_ATTRIBUTE pointer, and you need to identify the process to open using the ClientId parameter.

You don’t have to call ZwOpenProcess at all, ZwCurrentProcess() is the handle for the current process.

Also **terminating the calling process in kernel mode is A Real Bad IDEA **.

@Mark_Roddy said:
**Terminating the calling process in kernel mode is A Real Bad IDEA . **

You can prevent a write operation without killing the process. For example you can fail the write operation. Or you could pretend the write operation was successful but not actually write anything.