Installation of USB video class filter driver

Hi,

I am very new in windows driver development. Please forgive my basic questions.

Following the toaster class filter driver and the generic KMDF driver here http://www.osronline.com/article.cfm?article=446, I have written a KMDF filter driver for USB video class, only to check whether the Streaming data passes through this filter or not. For now, I am not particularly interested to process any streaming data.

Now I want to install the filter driver as a lower filter driver for USB video class. I am not getting how to install the filter driver and where to install. In device manager, I see ‘usbvideo.sys’ for imaging devices. Under sound, video and gaming controller, I see ‘portcls.sys’, ‘usbaudio.sys’ and ‘dmk.sys’. If I make my usb webcam on and want to filter the video, to which driver I should install the filter driver and how? Please help me.

Thanks for your patience.

xxxxx@gmail.com wrote:

Following the toaster class filter driver and the generic KMDF driver here http://www.osronline.com/article.cfm?article=446, I have written a KMDF filter driver for USB video class,…

First, I want to make sure you understand that the word “class” is used
in two different ways in that sentence. “Toaster class” is a Windows
install class. That filter will run on all devices that install
themselves in the “toaster install class”. “USB Video Class” is the
name of a specification from the USB Implementor’s Forum. You cannot
install a “class filter” for USB Video Class devices. USB Video Class
devices are sometimes installed in the “image” install class, and
sometimes in the “media” install class.

What you want to do is install a DEVICE lower filter for your specific
device.

only to check whether the Streaming data passes through this filter or not. For now, I am not particularly interested to process any streaming data.

The streaming data will pass through the filter, as URBs (USB request