dtm = a lunatic's nightmare

Since I am new to the world of DTM, I decided to keep it very simple. I installed the dtm controller and studio on my windows 2003 server and the dtm client on my xp machine. After performing the requisite setup actions for logo testing, I followed the example in DTM Help for monitor testing. In the “device console”, I selected “EDID 1.3 and DDC” and scheduled this test to execute. The first error reported is:

Failed to Start the Task “Copy Test Binaries”
Zero files are copied when Trying to Copy From Path “[WTT\WOW64TestBinRoot]\NTTEST\MULTIMEDIATEST\video\ntlogger.ini”…Failing the Task
Resolution
Zero files were copied. The CopyFile/CopyResult task has been marked failed. At least one file should be copied for the CopyFile/CopyResult task to pass.

I have no idea as to what this error is trying to say, and DTM Help is totally silent on the matter. Does anyone know how to get me “beyond go”? I would be quite happy just to get the DTM example to work not to mention my usb driver!

Thanks
Dan

To start, make sure the client can access that directory on the server using a UNC path. I don’t remember the details off the top of my head, but there is a directory on the controller that is shared and all clients are supposed to be able to access it.

Hi Takin

Thanks for the reply. My client PC has no problem accessing the controller’s dtmInstall directory. I revisited my process to test the client display and isolate the first occurrence of error. So, retracing my steps, I did the following:

1. In DTM Studio/Job Monitor, I added my client PC to the “Test Pool”;
  2. I added dimension Wdk\ConfigureDisplayMonitorCRT to the policy;
  3. I set my client PC status = reset;
  4. The 10 tasks pegged to the new dimension execute in lockstep;
  5. All tasks = pass except one, i.e. DisplayMonitorCRT Master Config Job;
  6. The error message chain is …

Failed to Start the Task “Deploy Dynamic System Update Manager - Copy Watchdog Manager”