continous reader for interrupt pipes for USB devices in WDM

Hi,

I need to interface with an USB device having 2 interrupt endpoints. To be on the
safe side, I need to do the continous polling on the driver side. I checked out
Walter Oney’s book on the topic, but naturally that covers one single int. endpoint.
I also know that it would be a piece of cake in KMDF but I need to have the driver
in plain WDM. Can you guys recommend a document, code snippet, example,
whatever that I should check out that covers multiple continous reading on
more than one interrupt endpoint per device (with regards to race issues, when
to start to submit the continous urb, when to stop, etc.)?
Sorry if I put way too lame questions, but I am quite new to the topic, was
more familiar with Linux USB drivers up until know (and there it’s easier, as there
is direct callback support for int ep.s).
Thanks in advance,

why are you not considering KMDF? as for oney’s code that handles only one interrupt endpoint, just make another instance of the data structures in your device extension and have 2 cont readers.

d

From: xxxxx@lists.osr.com [xxxxx@lists.osr.com] On Behalf Of xxxxx@chello.hu [xxxxx@chello.hu]
Sent: Saturday, September 27, 2008 12:16 PM
To: Windows System Software Devs Interest List
Subject: [ntdev] continous reader for interrupt pipes for USB devices in WDM

Hi,

I need to interface with an USB device having 2 interrupt endpoints. To be on the
safe side, I need to do the continous polling on the driver side. I checked out
Walter Oney’s book on the topic, but naturally that covers one single int. endpoint.
I also know that it would be a piece of cake in KMDF but I need to have the driver
in plain WDM. Can you guys recommend a document, code snippet, example,
whatever that I should check out that covers multiple continous reading on
more than one interrupt endpoint per device (with regards to race issues, when
to start to submit the continous urb, when to stop, etc.)?