Windows System Software -- Consulting, Training, Development -- Unique Expertise, Guaranteed Results

Home NTFSD

Before Posting...

Please check out the Community Guidelines in the Announcements and Administration Category.

More Info on Driver Writing and Debugging

The free OSR Learning Library has more than 50 articles on a wide variety of topics about writing and debugging device drivers and Minifilters. From introductory level to advanced. All the articles have been recently reviewed and updated, and are written using the clear and definitive style you've come to expect from OSR over the years.

Check out The OSR Learning Library at: https://www.osr.com/osr-learning-library/

How threading works in minifilters

NicolasIcebergNicolasIceberg Member Posts: 1

Hello,

I'm completely new to developing drivers, but I have been developing user-mode applications for quite a long time. While learning the concepts of developing minifilters, I learned that I can communicate with user-mode applications through the communication ports. At the same time, here , it says "A file system driver (FSD), which executes in the context of a user-mode thread that calls an I/O system service". These two statements made me anxious - what about race conditions in the driver? I mean, race conditions are quite feared in user-mode - so it seems like God only knows what terrible things they can cause in kernel mode.

Le's be a little more specific - let's say I have MessageNotifyCallback registered through FltCreateCommunicationPort, and at the same time I have a post-op-callback registered for IRP_MJ_CREATE. Can these things be executed concurrently? Do I need to use synchronization primitives while writing the file system minifilter driver, even if I'm not using any thread concepts directly in my code? And the other question is - where can I find the explanations for how and when?