Simple WDF custom Context

I want to have a simple WDF custom context, lets define it as below:

struct{
void *pData;
}DEV_CONTEXT;

This is a non PnP WDF driver which handles Create, Close, Cleanup, and DeviceIocontrol.

I want this context to be available in all these functions (much like the filter manager contexts).

I have never written a WDF/KNDF driver before, so am struggling a bit here.

Questions:

1. Where do I first allocate this context and how?
  2. How do I tuck it into the ‘Device Extension’, sorry for the WDM terminology here.
  3. How will this be available to me in the Creat/Close/DeviceIOcontrol callbacks? How do I retrieve it?
  4. When and where is this to be freed?

Read here.

Nicely describes, I think.

Peter

I think I am confused with when to use
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_SET_CONTEXT_TYPE vs WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_INIT_CONTEXT_TYPE

struct{
void *p;
} DEVEXT;

WDF_DECLARE_CONTEXT_TYPE_WITH_NAME(DEVEXT, GetDevExt)

When I create the device I use the following:and
WDFDEVICE cd;
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES oa
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_INIT(&oa);
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_INIT_CONTEXT_TYPE(&oa, DEVEXT);
Status = ::WdfDeviceCreate(&pDevInit, &oa, &cd);

do I also need to explicitly use WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_SET_CONTEXT_TYPE? If so is it before or after the WdfDeviceCreate?
Or can I start using the named Context Get function GetDevExt() directly to grab it in teh various Event routines like for Create, close etc?

To me the correct sequence seems to be

WDFDEVICE cd;
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES oa
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_INIT(&oa);
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_INIT_CONTEXT_TYPE(&oa, DEVEXT);
WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_SET_CONTEXT_TYPE(&oa, DEVEXT)
Status = ::WdfDeviceCreate(&pDevInit, &oa, &cd);

This page doesn’t seem to mention WDF_OBJECT_ATTRIBUTES_INIT_CONTEXT_TYPE at all.