Can I avoid BSOD due to PCI express completion timeout?

Hello,

I am quite new to Windows driver development, but I am a fairly experienced C/C++ developer. I am trying to track down a stability issue on a system with some new hardware we are developing. When running our new system, we see BSOD quite regularly. In hooking up the kernel debugger, I know that the reported reason is always due to PCI express completion timeouts. From the !analyze -v output:

MODULE_NAME: GenuineIntel

IMAGE_NAME: GenuineIntel.sys

STACK_COMMAND: .cxr; .ecxr ; kb

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x124_5_GenuineIntel_PCIEXPRESS_VENID_157D_DEVID_3151_COMPLETION_TIMEOUT_IMAGE_GenuineIntel.sys

OS_VERSION: 10.0.14393.0

BUILDLAB_STR: rs1_release

OSPLATFORM_TYPE: x64

OSNAME: Windows 10

FAILURE_ID_HASH: {293ef821-34fe-25dc-a682-28aa7c3857d8}

This lines up with what we have determined thus far. I’ve added read/write counters in our Windows driver. I have counters before & after each transaction. What I find is that when a crash occurs, we always crash (seemingly randomly after a few 100k transactions) during reads. I see that the “before” read count is one higher than the “after” read count. We also have similar counters in our FPGAs which shows that we see the same number of read requests as the driver, but the FPGA also isn’t getting a response back from another hardware component. So, we know we have an issue in our hardware. It seems as though the FPGA waits for a response from the hardware before issuing a PCIe response back to our PCI card/driver (as far as I can tell). So, the PCI timeout makes sense.