How to tell if a file has had a write operation in the pre-cleanup callback routine

Hi, i’m new to minifilter development. My minifilter intercepts both IRP_MJ_WRITE and IRP_MJ_CLEANUP and I need to filter for files that had been written to, in my pre-cleanup callback routine.

In my post-write callback, i call FltAllocateContext and FltSetStreamHandleContext to allocate and set a stream handle context which contains a ULONG variable to store the length of transfer in a write operation using Data->Iopb->Parameters.Write.Length.

Subsequently, in the pre-cleanup callback, i call FltGetStreamHandleContext to get a context if there was one allocated earlier. If the call is successful, i check that the ULONG variable is > 0 and if so, i deduce that the file had been written to.

May i ask if i am approaching this right? Thank you.

Hi,

You won’t know in pre-cleanup if there was a right, with certainty.
Sure, most access will show up, but some won’t.
By post-close you can know that though. That might happens an hour later
though!

What you want requires heuristics that is specific to your scenario.

Regards, Dejan.

Hi, may i ask why some write operations won’t show up in pre-cleanup and only show up in post-close using the context approach?

Currently, my scenario is to send files for scanning when the last user-mode applications using the files have closed their last handles to the file objects (hence pre-cleanup), but i am only interested in sending files that had write operations performed on them by user-mode applications. Thus, i am using the context approach to help me identify files that had been written to and to send for scanning when apps finished using them .

Would this approach be enough for my scenario? Thanks.

Memory mapped access will not show this way often enough. Writes are seen
after Cleanup only.

Dejan.

@user3211 said: