KMDF Mouse driver

Hello,

I am a beginner in kmdf driver development.
I would like to just try creating a simple driver to read data from my mouse ( I don’t want the mouse to work, just get the data sent on the USB ).

I used the “kmdf_enumswitches” kmdf template as it is supposed to read continous data on the USB (?) but the function “WdfUsbTargetDeviceCreateWithParameters” returns “STATUS_INVALID_DEVICE_REQUEST”

My guess is that the system knows it is a HID mouse and don’t let me open an USB handle to it.

Maybe what I am trying to do is not doable.

In this case, I thought about using an Arduino Due to send data to the driver, would that be an easier approach?

Thanks in advance

Do you want to see the raw usb data or the cooked mouse data? For cooked mouse data you can start with the moufiltr example. For the raw usb data you need to filter a lower part of the stack. Probably the easiest choice is to start with the toaster filter example and install it as a device lower filter below hidusb.sys. You will not send any requests on your own, rather you should filter the URBs sent by hidusb and in the completion routine you can see the data read from the device. BUT… what are you trying to learn? There may be easier paths to follow if you can state your goals.

Thanks for you answer,

I just want to demonstrate for a studies project how to retrieve data from a hardware using a windows driver.
I had in mind not to build a filter driver (as it would mean I just get the data from an already working windows driver that I didn’t code myself?), and rather be the first part of the stack: just the hardware and my driver, but maybe it is not possible?

I would like just the raw usb data (without even taking into account that it is a hid device).

Force install your driver and replace hidusb. You will have complete control over the io to the device.