Recommendation for custom PCIe/FPGA driver

Hello. Total newbie here when it comes to Windows Driver development.

I have been tasked with developing a Windows driver to let a user-land application control/monitor registers on a custom FPGA with a PCIe interface. I made the simplest FPGA firmware load I could think of: Whenever the host writes to the PCIe BAR address, that maps to a hardware register that turns an LED on and off. That’s all it does right now. And it’s single read/writes (no DMA…yet).

I tested this hardware on a Linux machine, and it works. I can toggle the LED. On the Windows machine, I can see the PCIe device enumerated and I can see the BAR values.

I’ve started down the path of Windows Driver development, and taken a few baby steps (Installed Visual Studio stuff: WDK, SDK, etc), got the WinDbg host/target setup going. I used the Visual Studio example project of a KMDF “sample” class driver that pretty much doesn’t do anything other than the DriverEntry and cleanup. For a day, I was able to install the driver, go to the device manager, update the driver of the FPGA card with my “sample” driver, and see a print statement appear in WinDbg, so a little bit of success.

I then started trying to figure out how to expose an “interface” or “API” (if either of those is the correct term), so the user land application can ask the driver to toggle the LED. I fumbled around enough to where now I can no longer find my “sample” driver when in the device manager (it says “operation completed successfully” when I install the inf file, but then it’s nowhere in the list of drivers…). I tried to regress, created a fresh KMDF “sample” class driver from the Visual Studio template…and still no luck.

So I thought I’d take a step back and ask for recommendations for an example driver project that somewhat matches what I’m trying to do.