Windows System Software -- Consulting, Training, Development -- Unique Expertise, Guaranteed Results

Home NTDEV

Before Posting...

Please check out the Community Guidelines in the Announcements and Administration Category.

More Info on Driver Writing and Debugging

The free OSR Learning Library has more than 50 articles on a wide variety of topics about writing and debugging device drivers and Minifilters. From introductory level to advanced. All the articles have been recently reviewed and updated, and are written using the clear and definitive style you've come to expect from OSR over the years.

Check out The OSR Learning Library at: https://www.osr.com/osr-learning-library/

Start W10 driver with OV cert

MikhailTopMikhailTop Member Posts: 1
edited March 2021 in NTDEV

Hi there ! I'm kinda new in the driver world which is pretty amazing from my POV. (I've found a lot of help in this forum, wanted to thanks all of you for that).

I'm working on a little project with my printer and now I want to start signing my driver.

I've bought an OV certification from comodoSSL which is issued by Sectigo. (secure boot is disabled)

I've downloaded my PFX file and signed my driver like this :

signtool.exe sign /f C:\Users\ces\Desktop\certificate.pfx /p keyPASSWORD /t http://timestamp.comodoca.com /v D:\new\repos\printerDrv\x64\Release\TekDevicePrinter\TekDevicePrinter.sys

My .sys file is signed and loaded with OSR.

However, when i'm starting my driver windows says : "windows can't verify the publisher of this driver software blablabla"

Any ideas ? Am I doing something wrong ? Thanks a lot ! My secure-boot is disabled.

Comments

• Tim_RobertsTim_Roberts Member - All Emails Posts: 14,852

You need to "cross-sign" your driver. That means you need to add an additional certificate (using the /ac parameter) that is issued by Microsoft, that certifies that Microsoft trusts Sectigo. You should be able to get that cross-certificate from here: