Windows System Software -- Consulting, Training, Development -- Unique Expertise, Guaranteed Results

Before Posting...
Please check out the Community Guidelines in the Announcements and Administration Category.

WDDM Display Only Driver to create a Virtual Display/Monitor

muniateguimuniategui Member Posts: 5
edited May 26 in NTDEV

I am a student who just started in Windows Driver Development. The project I am trying to do is to create a Virtual Monitor and capturing its framebuffer.

The examples that Microsoft have about Display Drivers is a KMDOD and i don't know if i will be capable of archiving my goal using this type of driver.

Another doubt i have is that if KMDOD can use a real GPU to render the windows on the display. In WDDM 1.2 features documentation it says that "Windows handles the 2-D or 3-D rendering by using software-simulated GPU." but on MS forums "Even WDDM Display-Only-Drivers (which do not have a WDDM User Mode Driver) need actual graphics adapter hardware." so i do not know if the rendering would be done by HW GPU or SF GPU.

Comments

• Mark_RoddyMark_Roddy Member - All Emails Posts: 4,306

You would be much better off targeting Win7 (or XP) and starting with the sample XPDM mirror driver. A WDDM mirror is way outside the scope of a student project.

• muniateguimuniategui Member Posts: 5
    edited May 30

But is the XPDM model compatible on windowws 8.1 and above? I tougth it was not.
    Also the extrictly the feature i need is not mirror one but to create an independent virtual display i don't know if that can be achieved with mirror driver.

• Tim_RobertsTim_Roberts Member - All Emails Posts: 13,002