Trapping Ctrl-Alt-Del

Hi.

I am developing an application for kiosk-like computers. When user presses Ctrl-Alt-Del combination we want to trap this event and show our custom application dialog that will block desktop and allow other user to enter the system without logging out of the windows session. Previously it was done using GINA, but since Vista this does not work, so we need to do this via keyboard filter driver. I am completely new in driver development, please help me :slight_smile:

1. The first problem: I do not have much information about how Windows itself detects Ctrl-Alt-Del combination. In KbFilter_ServiceCallback of kbfiltr I have key scan codes. But It looks like Windows uses virtual keys instead so if I try to filter based on scan codes this may work incorrectly if there is some sort of remapping (for instance RAlt ->AltGr). Am I correct on this assumption? If yes, then is it possible to translate scan code to virtual key in filter driver?

Also I don’t know whether Windows maintains some sort of state machine driven by keyboard events to detect Ctrl and Alt status when Del key make comes in? Or it asks keyboard driver to read the status from keyboard?

1. I need to send commands to the driver from a service to turn on/off the trapping. kbfiltr sample creates raw PDO for each device so if there are two keyboards connected there will be two PDOs. I can send command to any of them to change driver’s global state (global variable that stores on/off state). But probably it is better to create just one control object as toaster filter sample does. What do you think?

2. How can I get a handle to the process that sends DeviceIoControl so that if controlling user application crashes I could automatically disable the trapping?

Are you sure you need a custom application? Check what global policies you can set and if you can configure the system to do what you want. Run gpedit.msc