Question regard Device ID/Node

Let me first mention that I am not win32 driver guru, just a self-taught beginner.

I am creating a device within a driver, and assigning it a device id with WdfPdoInitAssignDeviceID(). Ultimately this will create a Node under the dev class for Smart Card Readers (in my case). Once the device is created and configured, I am calling WdfAddStaticChild() (which is where I think my problem is…) My question is that once I am done with the device, it is marked as missing but the Node still stays. This creates a problem since I can’t easily uninstall the driver since it still has active nodes; it looks like it is still in use, along with over time I could create a ton of nodes that are essentially dead. What can I do so that they are removed when I am done with the device?

This is what I am doing now for removal:
// Lock the list of children PDOs
WdfFdoLockStaticChildListForIteration(hParentDevice);
// Retrieve the first one
hPdo = WdfFdoRetrieveNextStaticChild( hParentDevice,NULL, WdfRetrievePresentChildren);
while (hPdo != NULL)
{
pPdoDevExt = GetPdoDevExt(hPdo);

// Compare the names
if (pPdoDevExt->DeviceInfo.ReaderId == ReaderId)
{
// We found the device of interest
status = WdfPdoMarkMissing(hPdo);
if (!NT_SUCCESS(status))
{
//Log Message
}
}

// Go to the next item on the list
hPdo = WdfFdoRetrieveNextStaticChild(hParentDevice, hPdo,WdfRetrievePresentChildren);
}

// Check to see if the list is empty
hPdo = WdfFdoRetrieveNextStaticChild( hParentDevice, NULL, WdfRetrievePresentChildren);
if (hPdo == NULL)
{
pDevExt->InstanceId = 0;
}

WdfFdoUnlockStaticChildListFromIteration(hParentDevice);

One thought that just jumped into my head is to determine if reader ids ever do match. I will be checking that.

Thanks,

Nik Twerdochlib
Software Developer

+1.601.607.8309 O
+1.866.522.8678 F

BOMGAR | Enterprise Remote Support™

One of the Fastest-Growing Technology Companies in America | Technology Fast 500™

What does

!wdfkd.wdfdevice 0xfff