NDIS passthru: transferring data to user space

Hi!

I’m a newbie in driver development and I’d like to ask a few questions about NDIS and kernel-user-io in general.

I’ve started with the “Passthru Extended Example - Part 2”, which gives a complete implementation of an NDIS4/5.x packet-filter based on ip numbers. I’d like to extend this example. I need to fill large buffers with packet payload and move these buffers into user space.

Although I’m new to driver development, I’m already a bit familiar with the NDIS world. I wont expect any problems with standard packet handling tasks (parsing, dropping, creating).

The big problem is missing knowledge of window’s standard driver mechanisms. I guess this is the point, why one should not start learning driver development by writing NDIS components… Therefore, the most important questions are, what exactly do I need to learn, and where to start.

To be more specific:

The passthru extended example (thomas’ version to be precise) already registers a Device via NdisMRegisterDevice. (Which should be equivalent to IoCreateDevice if I’m not wrong.) For my application, this device needs an additional high-throughput pipeline to userspace. I’m assuming, that I need to register a handler for IRP_MJ_READ, supporting DO_DIRECT_IO.
Then I could have a userspace dll queueing several reads in advance. The driver should get a memory buffer with each read request. Once a buffer is filled, the corresponding read request can be completed.

This are my ideas so far - after reading some bits about the basics. Did I make any obvious mistakes? Is this (roughly) the preferred way for pushing big blocks of data into userspace?

Do you have any advice, what I should read next? I’ve still some hope, that theres a document like ‘high performance driver buffer handling’, explaining everything I miss about the non-NDIS basics, but unfortunately, I haven’t found it yet.

Comments inline…

Thomas F. Divine

-----Original Message-----