KERNEL_APC_PENDING_DURING_EXIT (20) Bugcheck

Hello,
I am getting KERNEL_APC_PENDING_DURING_EXIT (20) Bugcheck when a ~30minute network backup job is almost completed. During this period the driver processes 1000s of file write events. When my mini-filter driver is disabled the backup succeeds, so it seems the filter driver is to blame.

The arguments are:
Arguments:
Arg1: 00000000, The address of the APC found pending during exit.
Arg2: 0000fffe, The thread’s APC disable count
Arg3: 00000000, The current IRQL
Arg4: 00000001

Having searched the list and google I am still unsure what is causing it - there are no direct calls in the driver to KeEnterCriticalRegion, KeWaitForSingleObject, KeWaitForMultipleObjects, KeWaitForMutexObject, or FsRtlEnterFileSystem.

What other APIs can disable APCs? My driver mainly uses Flt… and Rtl… calls.
Any advice on how to proceed? Thanks

> What other APIs can disable APCs? My driver mainly uses Flt… and Rtl… calls.

Hello.

I have no experience with mini-filters, but as documentation states FltAcquireResourceExclusive internally disables normal kernel APCs too.
So one possible guess might be an orphaned ERESOURCE as described in the following article:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ntdebugging/archive/2008/04/23/the-debug-ninja-speaks-debugging-a-stop-0x20.aspx

Hopefully somebody more experienced will correct me if I am wrong or add more suggestions what might be other possible causes of the problem.

Regards

Lenka

As Lenka says, FltAcquireResource does the FsRtlEnterFilesystem thing (which
is a mixed blessing).

So your first reaction should be to do a !locks in windbg and see what
resources still think they are owned by this thread. That may help you find
the mismatch FltReleaseResource s (if they are the cause.)

Are you running verifier? It can help in this situation by turning this into
a APC_INDEX_MISMATCH (or at least the verifier equivalent).

If all else fails it is not difficult (but not for release drivers) to build