display. To fix this problem I modified the moufiltr driver sample of
the DDK to set the MOUSE_VIRTUAL_DESKTOP flag. Everything works fine so
far, but the installation process drives me crazy. I can install the
filter driver going to the device manager, have driver… dialogue and
it works. But if I plug in my device in any other usb port the filter
driver is not used, only the standard mouhid and mouclass driver is
installed/loaded. All I can do is to repeat the installation process for
each port to get “plug and play”. What can I do to get this installation
process automated for the other usb ports after the first installation?
I’m an absolute newbie in driver development. I’m more focused on
software development for embedded devices and that’s quite far from this
stuff. I hope you guys can help me. For the moment I don’t know if this
can be solved by the inf-file or if I need a device co-installer to
solve it.

Thanks,
Carsten

> each port to get “plug and play”. What can I do to get this installation

Add a unique serial number to the USB descriptor of your device.

Maxim S. Shatskih
Windows DDK MVP
xxxxx@storagecraft.com
http://www.storagecraft.com

You want to create a driver package and add it to the driver store. Then when you plug it in to a new port, your filter will install correctly.

d

sent from my phpne

-----Original Message-----
Sent: April 16, 2010 7:22 AM
To: Windows System Software Devs Interest List
Subject: [ntdev] Automated install of a device upper filter (mouse hid) on all USB ports

Hello,

I developed an absolute mouse device (usb/hid). On a computer with two
displays and extended desktop the mouse only works on the primary
display. To fix this problem I modified the moufiltr driver sample of
the DDK to set the MOUSE_VIRTUAL_DESKTOP flag. Everything works fine so
far, but the installation process drives me crazy. I can install the
filter driver going to the device manager, have driver… dialogue and