Static Driver Verifier IRQL warnings in EvtDeviceAdd

Hi all,

I ran SDV for my driver for the very first time and chose “All” option in “Rule sets” under “Rules” tab. I got a number of warnings for methods like WdfDeviceInitSetIoType and WdfDeviceInitSetExclusive (and a few others). Now, I can see that these methods require IRQL to satisfy <= DISPATCH_LEVEL, but, isn’t that implied by the place from which these methods are called? Should I just ignore these warnings? If not, how do I fix this? I couldn’t find answers to this in MS documentation or other posts here.

I feel it would be a waste to check IRQL just to satisfy SDV, if the APIs are called in the context that will never be at such IRQL level (I’m just a beginner, but can IRQL be bigger than DISPATCH_LEVEL when adding a device?).

No. You must not simply ignore anything that SDV says.

You are correct, however, that EvtDriverDeviceAdd is always called at IrqlPassiveLevel and so calling WdfDeviceInitSetExclusive from this function should be fine. It’s where we ALL call this function, after all.

So… the question becomes: What are you doing that might raise the IRQL at which you’re running – Are you holding a lock? Have you tried checking the actual IRQL, to see what it is?

In terms of tool use issues: Are you using proper role-type declarations (as in “EVT_WDF_DRIVER_DEVICE_ADD EvtWdfDriverDeviceAdd;” to declare your EvtDriverDevice add) so that SDV knows which functions in your driver have particular roles?

Peter

Thanks Peter. The function where these flagged actions are is directly called from a method flagged as EVT_WDF_DRIVER_DEVICE_ADD. It’s just the way the code is structured when the driver code is initially generated from Visual Studio template. No locks, nothing, just straightforward setting up attributes before calling WdfDeviceCreate.