Modifying pcie switch config space for link training (80h capability register)

I was looking for a windows exe User application to modify pci config space, especially capability offsets of 80h.
If you have any link for the windows sources that would run as exe, it would be great to help me out as i am new to windows.

Any Visual studio project doing this task to access switch config space would be a great help.

There are two problems here.

First, PCI config space cannot be accessed from user space at all. It requires a kernel driver, and unless the kernel driver is a filter driver in the device’s driver stack, whatever method it uses is unsupported and dangerous.

Second, the capabilities register is not writeable. It is reporting status from the IP, not accepting commands.

What on earth is the larger goal you’re trying to accomplish?

Thanks Tim for the response, I am trying to do link training of the downstream devices on pcie bus. PCI link control register is writable wanted to access it at 80h of cfg space.
So we cannot access switch config space in userspace at all? how to do link enable and disable ? in kernel mode only ? Any VS code reference if you have pls do share it.

I am trying to do link training of the downstream devices…

No. You do not get to be involved in that. Link training happens at a hardware level at power-up time, LONG before any software of any kind has been loaded. The CPU is not involved in that task. And once negotiated, they are set for life. They cannot be changed without a reset.

Link capabilities is register 0x8C. That’s all read-only. Link control and status is in 0x90. A few fields are writable, but the negotiated link speed and width are not.

What is the problem? Is your device training at the wrong rate?

I am trying to enable link and then disable link, to test the downstream devices for LT. Its the hw validation procedure which I wanted to put in the code to test Link Training.

Link Control Register (Offset 10h)