Cmake vs .sln for building drivers?

Hi, I am new to minifilters but recently came across a thought about using cmake instead of using .sln for building and signing minifilters.

I found a few projects that might help with it:

At the same time I saw a few negatives around using cmake to compile drivers:

A few points about the projects:

• I do not intend to modify the minifilter often
  • I made a lot of tweaks in “build configuration” in Visual Studio
  • I do not intend to use linux or any other distro while building and working on minifilter

I see a few cons and pros:

• cmake makes it easier to have CI/CD
  • You no longer need to use visual studio for dev if you want

But:

• There is little to no “official” documentation on how to use cmake for drivers from microsoft
  • Microsoft assumes you are using Visual Studio in every article/documentation
  • You can make a lot for more tweaks from Visual Studio build configurations
  • There is a certain “guarantee” that you are doing things the correct way (aka microsoft way) then going off on your own

Overall my gut feelings says to do as Microsoft does it and I will probably run into fewer problems down the line. Cmake feels like an hammer for a screw. But at same time having CI/CD will be nice that is cross platform. The project in questions is fsfilter-rs.

(Moved to NTDEV)

1 Like

Why not use .sln? I mean… what possible reason would you want to use cmake, when .sln is designed to do the job. You KNOW that you don’t have to use VS to build your driver, right? And you don’t need to use it as your IDE if you don’t like it. You can build from the command line using msbuild, and you can use the Enterprise WDK.

1 Like

@“Peter_Viscarola_(OSR)” said: