KiSelectNextThread equivalent function needed

Hello all. I’m new to kernel mode development and was reading Windows Internals 6th Edition Part 1 book where I discovered the KiSelectNextThread function. However it appears that this function is not exported by the kernel or is it ? Assuming that it’s not exported I would like to find an equivalent for my purpose. I need a kernel mode API that can access/return the
_KTHREAD structure. I’m not certain but I believe this _KTHREAD structure directly or indirectly allows me to access address space of the thread before a context switch is performed. Hope the above details are clear. Thanks for reading.

The KTHREAD structure is considered internal and changes on (it seems) a daily basis, and it’s contents will change at times you’re not able to know about, so it’s generally considered opaque …

What problem are you attempting to solve with this solution?

1 Like

craig thanks. I’m not able to share those details but what I can say is that I need access to the address space of the thread that is to be executed next.

Ah, another “if only I could tell you, but it’s a secret of the universe which cannot be revealed …” …

If I only had a dollar for every “I could tell you, but it’s a secret of the universe which cannot be revealed” tidbit of knowledge but which turns out to be stirring the coffee once clockwise, then once counter-clockwise rather than the traditional “twice clockwise” secret of the universe I’d be a lot closer to retirement!

Let me take a guess … you want to discern the next thread that will be executed by the scheduler to inject a code segment/ determine if someone has injected a code segment/ prevent someone else from injecting a code segment … probably for some groundbreaking anti-malware technology that will revolutionize the industry and render all of the competing products obsolete overnight that you can patent and sell to the highest bidder for a tidy nine digit sum, yes?