port XILINX XDMA to AVstream minidriver for a PCIE device

I have a PCIE capture card based on XILINX XDMA. I want to learn about windows driver development. Now I want to port the xdma code to the avstream framework to support the directshow function, so that I can play the capture in real time in the Windows built-in player.
But I’m a novice, I don’t know where to start, I want to find an open source example first to learn from it, and then try to modify some functions I want.
Thank you all friends who read this post. I hope some friends can give some help. Thank you very much!

If you’re a novice, then this may not be a good place to start. You’re merging two complicated technologies. What kind of a device are you creating?

When you buy a Xilinx development kit, they’ll send you the source code for their XDMA driver. That driver has a number of rather serious problems, as Mr Viscarola will attest. There are two AVStream drivers in the Microsoft driver samples repository: “avssamp” does video and audio, and “avshws” does video through simulated DMA. “avshws” is usually a good starting place.

Even then, you’ll have a lot of code to write. avshws assumes packet DMA, where you lock each new buffer as it comes in, then DMA into it, then unlock. The XDMA driver streams into a circular buffer and copies from there. That makes the bookkeeping easier, but it means you have to write that code.

@Tim_Roberts said:
If you’re a novice, then this may not be a good place to start. You’re merging two complicated technologies. What kind of a device are you creating?

When you buy a Xilinx development kit, they’ll send you the source code for their XDMA driver. That driver has a number of rather serious problems, as Mr Viscarola will attest. There are two AVStream drivers in the Microsoft driver samples repository: “avssamp” does video and audio, and “avshws” does video through simulated DMA. “avshws” is usually a good starting place.