Kernel to user communication

Hi everyone,

First, I am quite new to windows driver dev, don’t be too harsh :smile:
At some point, the driver I am trying to build needs to process some data with floating point operations, and talking to a server with http requests.
So what I would need is a way to send the data the driver extracted to a user app which would perform the various operations, networking etc. and send it back to the driver. During the processing, the driver would need to wait as it is a KMDF filter driver that modifies read/write data in wdfrequests.

Is this even possible ?

And if it is, IOCTL with inverted calls a good way to go ? Or would I need to use some shared memory ? Or maybe using another method I didnt read about ?

Thanks in advance for your advices,
Axel.

Kernel mode can do floating point quite nicely, and there exist kernel level Winsock functions … google “Winsock Kernel”, there are some GitHub libraries and projects that user Kernel Winsock as well, TCP as well as UDP supported in KMDF as well as UMDF v2 flavors …

Kernel mode can do floating point quite nicely

Hmmmmm… Really? Let’s be sure we’re super clear here: Unless something has changed since the AMD64 was introduced, ordinary FPP instructions are not supported on X64 in kernel mode. You need to use SSEx instructions instead.

You can find a (15 year old) thread on this here.

Peter

1 Like

I read about floating point operations being either unsupported or complicated/not efficient.
At first I began to manually implement floating point numbers/operations but I thought it would be a bit over kill if there was a simplier way to give that work to a user mode app. Hence my question above

OMG…

I guess it makes sense for you to lock it right on the spot before someone decides “to bring it back from the dead” and replies to some of the posts on it

Anton Bassov

@“Peter_Viscarola_(OSR)” said:

Kernel mode can do floating point quite nicely