Network file sharing issue port 137 and 445

Hi All,

I am very new to networking domain. Currently, I am encountering an issue on my server. Mapped Network drives are getting disconnected when turning on web protection in a third party AV.
In the AV logs, I see lot of these message printed. UDP packets on port 137 are blocked saying that filtering has occurred. But TCP connection on port 445 was succeeded to the client machine on my LAN.

FWPM_LAYER_ALE_AUTH_RECV_ACCEPT_V4_DISCARD Src=172.16.255.255:137, Dst=172.16.35.178:137, Protocol=UDP, PId=4, PName=System, DiscardReason=FWPS_DISCARD_FIREWALL_POLICY
FWPM_LAYER_ALE_FLOW_ESTABLISHED, SRC=172.16.50.125:49860, Dst=172.16.35.178:445, Protocol=TCP, Direction=Outbound, PId=4, PName=System"

As per the MSDN doc, I understood that when incoming accept() calls are discard this AUTH_RECV_ACCEPT_V4_DISCARD layer gets invoked.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/fwp/ale-layers

Also, I got to know that port 137 is used for file sharing. If we want to disable file sharing on my server, I can block the port 137 so that no other computer can access the files on the server machine. I have two questions on my mind.

1. Does disabling port 137 prevents local file access by other machines or it blocks the entire file sharing so that my pc also can’t access other machine files (in case other machine not blocked port 137 on it)?
  2. Because of the port 137 on my server is not accepting incoming accept() calls, the mapped network drives are disconnected?

Thanks

Blocking incoming port 137 will prevent the machine from advertising its own shares. Blocking outgoing port 137 will prevent you from accessing other file shares. Since you’re inside a NAT network, I don’t know why you would do either.

1 Like

Thanks Tim.