Feasibility of write a webcam driver for cheap webcam

Hello folks. First time here. I’ve read the Getting Started and the joining stuff, and I’ve searched for solutions without success, so I hope I’m not wasting your time.

I am embedding a webcam camera board in another product which I sell, but the board I have been using is no longer sold, so I need a replacement.
All of the boards in the new webcams I have tested do not permit manual exposure/gain control - which is essential for my application.
They use automatic control which is not suitable, as my application shows the webcam dim images and the gain-up destroys the image.
The cameras I’ve looked at have chips with number on them which I cannot find online, so I can’t get tech specs (unless you know otherwise).
I was a software engineer for a long time, but I have no experience with Windows programming.

So - two questions, really:

1. Is there a way to forward to identify the chips in these webcams without being able to look up the numbers?
    I guess I can look at the chip topology & pin count, and - knowing it’s a microcontroller of some kind, I might be able to make assumptions.
    I could also probe for signals and gain insights that way, the the pins are tiny and very close, and this seems like a daunting prospect. Is there an easier way?

2. This may be a dumb quesiton - but can you give me a feel for the level of effort required for someone with my background to get up and running with a driver that presents the device as a webcam with manual exposure control? Of course - if the hardware doesn’t support manual control, then all bets are off.

Many thanks
Chris

I assume this conversation will be moved to the [ntdev] forum, where it belongs.