How does ntoskrnl load the port drivers without creating Driver Objects?

Hello everyone, I’m studying about port drivers and trying to learn how they work. now As you all know, port drivers are like kernel libraries, and therefore they don’t have a driver object, so this means that they will not get loaded by standard methods of loading a driver because using normal APIs to create load the driver will cause the kernel to create a driver object for them.

so this got me wondering, How does ntoskrnl load the port drivers without creating Driver Objects?

Port (as in the port/mini-port model) are typically implemented as kernel-mode DLLs.

That should solve the mystery for you,

Peter

@“Peter_Viscarola_(OSR)” said:
Port (as in the port/mini-port model) are typically implemented as kernel-mode DLLs.

That should solve the mystery for you,

Peter

So what is the proper way of loading the kernel dlls, how does the ntoskrnl do it ? tried reading the https://www.osronline.com/article.cfm^id=171.htm but it didn’t explain the proper way of doing it, should i straight up call zwLoadDriver or…?

You’re making this much harder than it really is. It works exactly the same way it does in user mode. You understand how implicit linking works in user mode? You don’t DO anything. Your miniport code calls StorPortInitialize. Your makefile adds storport.lib as one of the libraries. That’s a DLL import library. The entry for StorPortInitialize tells the linker that the entry point is satisfied by the StorPortInitialize export from storport.sys, and it embeds that in the PE.

When your driver gets loaded by PnP, the kernel goes through the list of imported symbols. IoCallDriver gets satisfied by loading and linking to ntoskrnl.exe, and StorPortInitialize gets satisfied by loading and linking to storport.sys. All automatic.

@Tim_Roberts said: