iddSampleDriver woes - trying to connect the dots

Like others before me, I’m trying to create a virtual display driver using the Idd(Cx)SampleApp from the WDK for Windows 10 1903. I’ve written for Windows since the late '80s, but I’m new to the DDK/WDK. I’ve been working on this for several weeks, and I’ve read everything relevant that I can find online.

Background:

In a response to a older post from someone attempting a similar goal, Marcel Ruedinger (Datronisoft) stated:

Marcel Ruedinger
Two types of WDDM display drivers can reasonably be written by regular driver developers:

• WDDM DOD Display Only Drivers (e.g. KMDOD).
  • WDDM IddCx Indirect Display Drivers.

The downside of both: Currently they both need real hardware.

This was a non-starter for me, because I’m trying to create a virtual display (adapter/monitor) with no hardware backing (1).

But then I read this in another post:

Marcel Ruedinger
For those who want to go beyond the regular and documented scope of Windows operating system support and really write a contemporary virtual display driver:

• Write a USB bus driver which emulates a USB bus with connected display device (e.g. DisplayLink USB display).
  • Then install the WDDM IddCx Indirect Display sample [from the WDK] on the virtual USB driver’s emulated display device.

Voila - there is your virtual display!

So, I added a USB Bus Emulator driver project to my solution.

Hint: I heard that the above named IddCx sample can supposedly even be operated without hardware (2) when starting Windows with “Driver Signature Enforcement” disabled (F7).

Hmm, I assumed that the emulated USB Bus eliminated the need for physical hardware…?

And then a bit later, I discovered the following discussion involving Doron Holan and Marcel Ruedinger, leading me to think I didn’t need the USB Bus Emulator driver after all…:

Doron Holan

You need a root enumerated bus driver which will then enumerate a child display device(s).

Marcel Ruedinger