Noob needs help understand what symbolic links are ~

Hello, I’m new to kernel programming and am learning my way around WDK at the moment.
I wanted to know the difference between a handle and a symbolic link.
We use a handle to a Device Object with a client (usermode processes,calls etc)
The definition of a symbolic link directly taken from _Windows Kernel Programming by Pavel Yosifovich _ is: _“More precisely, CreateFile accepts a symbolic link, a kernel object that knows how to point to another kernel object.” _
He further goes on to say: “All the symbolic links that can be used from user mode CreateFile or CreateFile2 call are located in the Object Manager directory named ??. This can be viewed with the Sysinternals tool WinObj.”
So a handle is a bridge between a client and Device object (I know that a handle is somewhat a pseudo-pointer)and a symbolic link can be used for the same?
What am I missing here?

Any resources linked to help me learn about driver dev would help too.
Appreciate your time.

What do you want to know that Wikipedia doesn’t tell you already, of that you don’t see in Google when you search “Symbolic Link”?

Yes, that is a serious question,

Peter

I wanted to know the difference between a handle and a symbolic link.

To put it simply, symlink is the input parameter to CreateFile() call that can be used instead of the target file’s/device’s name, and a handle is the output one that can be used in the subsequent calls that actually access to the target device/file. Simple,ugh…

Anton Bassov

Well it looks like the OP is confused because there are several kinds of symbolic links.
Object manager symlinks are described here.
Filesystem symbolic links are something different (and now we have also the Linux symlinks in the WSL filesystem).
And the registry has its own kind of links. So be kind on the noob, gentlemen.

– pa