MEMORY_MANAGEMENT bsod with subtype 0x61941 when iterating through PTEs

Hello!

I am a hobbyist and I am trying to develop a program that iterates through PTEs of physical memory to scan for patterns.

I tested this driver in a VM and it worked perfectly fine, no hanging.

When I test on my host computer, I have problems.
My computer hangs around 15 seconds after the scan starts and windbg does not capture any crash dump or crash info (it’s as if windbg doesnt know about the BSOD)

Yes, I am doing invlpg after each page access

@Adam_Smith … First, I have edited your original username. It’s not funny. It’s the name of a real person, who I know personally, and who used to work at OSR. You are not that person. I have no clue why you would choose that name. But it pisses me off.

So I chose a different name for you, that of a Scottish economist.

As for your question… I‘ll leave it to someone else to answer.

Peter

Are you just looking, or are you changing things? In a real environment, the page tables are incredibly dynamic, changing often and quickly. If you are, for example, changing an entry and restoring it later, I have no doubt that would cause crashes.

> @Tim_Roberts said: > Are you just looking, or are you changing things? In a real environment, the page tables are incredibly dynamic, changing often and quickly. If you are, for example, changing an entry and restoring it later, I have no doubt that would cause crashes. I am iterating through physical pages by allocating a page and changing the PFN around. Would you suggest any alternative?

You ARE taking into account the fact that devices are mapped into the physical address space, right? And that part of the “device address space hole” might not have ANYTHING behind it??

Peter

@“Peter_Viscarola_(OSR)” said:
You ARE taking into account the fact that devices are mapped into the physical address space, right? And that part of the “device address space hole” might not have ANYTHING behind it??

Peter