Save persistent data to a file

During a precreate call, I would like to store some information about the file transaction that just happened, it should actually be real simple to just spit out some data to a file, after I spit this information into a file, I want to be able to read this information from the file that was just saved, the file name would be static. I am pretty new to minifilter driver development, and this is my final item before its complete. I tried to use fstream.h, which imports just fine, but I can’t use any of the methods provided by the class, ofstream is just simply undefined.

You can use any CRTL functions from a driver.

You need to use the Native Windows API: ZwCreateFile, ZwWriteFile, ZwReadFile. The harder part will be parsing the data. Yuck.

But why a FILE? You’d be much better off, and your life would be easier, if you stored the data In the Registry.

Peter

1 Like

Peter, you are right, your suggestion is brilliant, I forgot all about Zw. To answer your question I have thought about the registry. The product I am putting together is a security product, and if I use the registry then the data is accessible/hackable even if encrypted. With a file minifilter, I am in control of who opens the files which puts me in a good position to block access to the file from anything but my minifilter. I suppose at a deep level, the registry is a set of files, so it might be possible to block access to that segment of the registry. I really wanted to use the registry so maybe I will do some trail and error.

Thank you so much Peter for your answer, you got me on the path to working again. I am on my way to finishing this thing thanks to you!

Peter, sorry for asking another noob question, can you please tell me what might be wrong with this code? I have tested it every way but up and still gives me an invalid parameter error:

WCHAR* ProgramLogFile = L"\??\C:\Users\cf.txt";
HANDLE LogFileHandle;
LARGE_INTEGER AllocationSize;