Help regarding power management and USB selective suspend with UMDF2

Hello,

I am new to windows driver development and need help regarding power management and selective suspend.

I am writing an UMD2 driver for a custom USB device. My starting point for the driver code was https://github.com/microsoft/Windows-driver-samples/tree/master/usb/umdf2_fx2

My driver exposes a dozen of IOCTL that are processed sequentially through one power managed I/O queue. Most of the IOCLs are translated to one or several synchronous USB control requests. Few IOCTLs however will start some asynchronous operation on the device. In this case, a background thread is started to issue one USB read on the input pipe with an infinite timeout. At any time, the device will send a USB wakeup event and push the data on the IN endpoint. The USB read request will complete and the IOCTL will return the device data.

This works pretty well but I am now trying to enable selective suspend on the driver to limit overall power consumption while waiting for asynchronous operation to complete or when device is doing nothing.

I have made my driver the policy owner and have defined the idle and wake-up power policy as follow:

WDF_DEVICE_POWER_POLICY_IDLE_SETTINGS_INIT(&idleSettings, IdleUsbSelectiveSuspend);
idleSettings.DxState = PowerDeviceD2;
idleSettings.Enabled = WdfTrue;
idleSettings.UserControlOfIdleSettings = IdleAllowUserControl;
idleSettings.IdleTimeout = 10000;
idleSettings.ExcludeD3Cold = WdfTrue; 

WDF_DEVICE_POWER_POLICY_WAKE_SETTINGS_INIT(&wakeSettings);
wakeSettings.Enabled = WdfTrue;
wakeSettings.DxState = PowerDeviceD2;

However, I have noticed, while the driver is idling (no IOCTL to process), the framework will call EvtDeviceD0Exit(TargetState=WdfPowerDeviceD2) after idle timeout, but will immediately call EvtDeviceD0Entry(PreviousState=WdfPowerDeviceD2) and will do that every idle timeout seconds (there was only my device on the USB hub).