Minifilter | Validity/Scope & Reusability of Objects in the IRP

Hello everyone!

I’m Currently writing a File Replication filter for VHDs - Since I am rather new to the topic I have a few questions about the Scope of certain parameters of the IRP.
Would be great if someone had the answers - or point me to a source/google search where I can expand my understanding about the Topics.

1. Could I use the IOPB.TargetFileObject from the PFLT_CALLBACK_DATA for my own read needs?
    1.1. If no, even If I did an FltObjectReference beforehand? Is this even a sensible question or am I completely mistaken with how I think about this?
    1.2. If yes, would It make more sense to Open the File for myself? I kind of don’t want to have to compete with shared Acces rights

2. Can I Use the Pointer Address to the IOPB.TargetFileObject to find out if further IRPs write to the same file?
    2.1. Could I miss IRPs from other Processes since they might use another File Object Addres - Or does Windows use the same Address to reference the File globally and toss it if nothing is referencing to it anymore?

3. Am I correct in my assumption that the WriteBuffer / MDL in a writing IRP is only valid until the IRP is done?
    3.1. And if I want to write the same changes to another File I have to copy said buffer?

4. Each write/read from any Programm etc has to Open, do, Close the File. Is there any way to know if the IRPs I’m filtering are from this Chain/transaction?
    4.1 I think the FileObject Pointer from the Open till the Close should be the same. Can someone Verify that?

5. The MDL in the FLTWriteFile seems to be Optional? What advantages do I have if I create one for My Write?

6. FileObjects/Buffer/MDLs/Handles can only be dereferenced/closed/freed as soon as the Operation which uses them is done, not just after I have called said operation. correct?

That’s it - a big Thank you in advance!

@AaronK said: