Issues in the disk encryption filter

Hi,

I’m writing a basic kmdf-based upper disk filter that will encrypt vhds. (This is my first attempt at writing non-fs minifilter driver, so please bear with me).

I’ve reached to a point where I can attach to a test vhd and can see all the READs, WRITEs and IOCTLs happening on it. So far so good. Now I want to introduce encryption (during WRITE) and decryption piece (during POST READ) to this. For this I need to obviously first access data buffers for these IO requests which I do using WdfRequestRetrieveInputMemory / WdfRequestRetrieveOutputMemory functions. Couple of issues I’ve come across are:

1. Keeping the encryption part aside, I seem to be getting STATUS_ACCESS_VOILATION while copying data back from my local buffer to InputMemory. So in the write event callback,

• WdfRequestRetrieveInputMemory(Request, &InputMemory);
      WdfMemoryGetBuffer(InputMemory, &BufferSize);
      LocalBuffer = ExAllocatePoolWithTag(NonPagedPoolNx, BufferSize, POOL_TAG);
      WdfMemoryCopyToBuffer(InputMemory, 0, LocalBuffer, BufferSize);
      //
      // This is where I would add encryption part, could be as simple as LocalBuffer[i]++ to begin with
      //
      WdfMemoryCopyFromBuffer(InputMemory, 0, (PVOID)LocalBuffer, BufferSize); → I get STATUS_ACCESS_VOILATION at this call. Any idea why ?
      WdfRequestSend(Request, Target, &options);
  2. Also, I understand that even for full-disk encryption, certain parts of the disk should not be subject to encryption/decryption process. E.g.
    (https://community.osr.com/discussion/64507/problems-with-a-disk-encryption-filter-driver) IoReadPartitionTable is not subject to filtering. It ignores the disk upper filters.
    So what are the sectors (I know about sector 0) I should watch out for and refrain from encrypting?

For testing, I create and attach a vhd manually using disk management. At this point my filter gets attached and receives all the READ, WRITE notifications.