WDM File System Driver USB ejection not working in latest Windows 10

Hi, I am a junior developer who has been placed in charge of fixing a problem we are having with a file system driver which we had developed by an external company before I joined. It’s a bit of a daunting task especially as this is my first software job and I’m in way over my head here. The problem is that the USB eject function of a USB drive which has been formatted to this file system isn’t working properly - it was working fine on Windows 10 version 1803 however does not work on the latest Windows 10.

Any attempt to either eject a USB which has been formatted to this file system or even shutdown the computer with the drive still plugged in, will result in the formatted drive being corrupted. The only way to bring it back into a usable state is to use a tool that came with the driver when it was developed which cleans the drive to make it work again.

I’m sorry if this isn’t a lot of information to go on - but I could really use someone’s help here as I am pulling my hair out trying to solve this problem. Did anything change for file system drivers in one of the latest Windows updates? If anyone has any idea what could be going on here, I would really appreciate the help!

does not work on the latest Windows 10

What, exactly, do YOU consider to be “the latest Windows 10”?? 20H1? 1909??

Any attempt to either eject a USB which has been formatted to this file system