PCI device not Enumerated

Hi,
‏‏‎ ‎
I am new to windows driver develpoment.
‏‏‎ ‎
My understandingfor PCI Enumeration in windows is that pci.sys will enumerate PCI devices and produce hardware Ids like PCI/VEN_xxxx&DEV_yyyy
and the os calls the add device funtion of driver having same hardware Id in .inf file and gives device context to this drivers Add Device funtion.

but i can’t find a particular PCI device.
i am not sure if problem is because of the PCI cards Vendor id being 0000.(It has valid device ID) or because it is connected through PCIe-PCI bridge
or my understanding of PCI enumeration in Windows is wrong.
‏‏‎ ‎
‏‏‎ ‎
i have tried to search for the device using different tools like Device manager, devcon, pci-z, etc. but couldn’t find the device.

i know that i could find the device by enumerating on bus no and slot no and comaparing Vendor ID and Device ID. (with HalGetBusData)
‏‏‎ ‎
‏‏‎ ‎
what other tools can i use to search for a PCI device with vendor ID of 0000?

is there other ways of enumerating the PCI device with just Bus No and Slot No.

I would appreciate any help.
‏‏‎ ‎
‏‏‎ ‎
Thank you,
Ramesh

I dunno. But I know vendor ID 0x0000 isn’t valid. So why not fix that first, and worry about everything else later.

Try sticking the device in multiple different systems. Dump the bus with “rweverything”…

But fix your device first. What’s the point of writing a driver for such a broken device?

Peter

1 Like

Using CHIPSEC from the EFI Shell can be a pretty useful device debugging toolchain.
You can follow these instructions to get up and running:
https://github.com/chipsec/chipsec/wiki/Creating-a-Bootable-USB-drive-with-UEFI-Shell

This is a legacy PCI device, so cannot change id anymore.

The client has newer device models with correct configs, but has to support this device till some time they were using halgetbus to get the device resource now it not working.