Logon with NTLM hash password

Hi, I am graduated recently from the university and I get my first project from the company (I know I am not a professional but please accept me as an student who wanted to grow up in the industry if you find out this question silly).

In this project (as my first employed programmer), I should develop a program which it gets a username, an NTLM hash password, and address of a local machine or remote machine to join to that machine with the credentials. I wanted to know how can I done this project and how should I go through it? Is there any guide for newbie software developer who started his work in the industry or some of you can give me some links or tutorials for this project.

Hmmmm… I’m afraid this question is not really within the scope of problems we discuss here on NTDEV. Still, I leave it here (and not lock the thread) in case anyone happens to want to answer it.

I was under the impression that you couldn’t read password hashes from the AD anymore. But that’s just based on my general knowledge…

Peter

are you trying to use the SSPI API? InitializeSecurityContext, AcceptSecurityContext etc?

if so this is not a project for someone new. these APIs are very complex and poorly designed. the samples on MSDN are adequate but leave out most error handling

or are you trying to write a client that uses NTLM authentication? in 2019 / 2020 that would be odd since the protocol is depreciated as insecure

password hashes are stored in SAM or AD, but you can’t really get them from those locations per se. it is hard to help without knowing more about what your overall objective is

1 Like