Redirect DNS traffic using WFP

Hi!
I am new to WFP and driver development in general and OSR have been so helpful through this learning journey. Right now I am facing a similar problem described on this post: Cisco AnyConnect VPN compatibility woes. I have tried to apply the solution posted there, but I can’t get it to work, so I was hoping to the get some pointer of what could be happening and how could I get this to work. Let me described what I am trying to do:

I am trying to implement the same scenario that Jason_Stephenson described here , a local DNS proxy and a callout driver that redirects the DNS queries to this proxy. I managed to get the redirection to the DNS proxy working by registering a callout filter at the FWPM_LAYER_OUTBOUND_TRANSPORT_V4 layer, and then re-inject the packet using FwpsInjectTransportSendAsync. My problem now is that I can’t get the “de-proxy” of the response from the DNS proxy to work, as I understand for the Windows DNS client to accept the response the packet must come from the original IP and port, so the DNS proxy response’s source address and port should be restored to the original DNS query destination address and port.

Supposedly the “de-proxy” should be done on the FWPM_LAYER_INBOUND_TRANSPORT_V4, I have register a filter without conditions and the response packet is not hitting it (I can identify the packet by the remote ip address and port). Neither the packet is present on the FWPM_LAYER_INBOUND_TRANSPORT_V4_DISCARD nor on the FWPM_LAYER_DATAGRAM_DATA_V4/FWPM_LAYER_DATAGRAM_V4_DISCARD or FWPM_LAYER_INBOUND_IPPACKET_V4_DISCARD layers. Can another callout be absorbing the packet? or Is the TCP/IP stack dropping the packet?, but if it is dropping the packet, how come I can’t get the packet on any of the discard layers?

The only layer where i can get the packet is FWPM_LAYER_INBOUND_IPPACKET_V4 layer, so I am modifying the packet on this layer. My code looks like this:

void classifyFunc(...)
{