WDDM Display Only Driver to create a Virtual Display/Monitor

I am a student who just started in Windows Driver Development. The project I am trying to do is to create a Virtual Monitor and capturing its framebuffer.

The examples that Microsoft have about Display Drivers is a KMDOD and i don’t know if i will be capable of archiving my goal using this type of driver.

Another doubt i have is that if KMDOD can use a real GPU to render the windows on the display. In WDDM 1.2 features documentation it says that “Windows handles the 2-D or 3-D rendering by using software-simulated GPU.” but on MS forums “Even WDDM Display-Only-Drivers (which do not have a WDDM User Mode Driver) need actual graphics adapter hardware.” so i do not know if the rendering would be done by HW GPU or SF GPU.

You would be much better off targeting Win7 (or XP) and starting with the sample XPDM mirror driver. A WDDM mirror is way outside the scope of a student project.

But is the XPDM model compatible on windowws 8.1 and above? I tougth it was not.
Also the extrictly the feature i need is not mirror one but to create an independent virtual display i don’t know if that can be achieved with mirror driver.

No, it’s not. Mark’s point (and he is entirely correct) is that a WDDM driver is a very complicated beast, and is clearly not a good place for a beginner to start. If you are creating your own project, you should make another choice. The USB world is a much better place to learn about driver development. There are hundreds and hundreds of little USB experimenter’s boards where you can control both the firmware on the device and the driver on the host.

What’s the point of a virtual monitor that’s not a mirror? If the user can’t see the results, he’s never going to drag any windows to it, and he won’t be able to interact with the windows to click any buttons.