Mini filter driver to redirect file access

Hello,

I’m new to driver and windows programming and I have some doubts about a project I’m doing. I’m developing a minifilter driver to redirect all create, open and write operations of a local file to a shared one. For example:
I want to redirect all the operations mentioned above from C:\tmp\foo.txt to D:\dir\foo.txt.
After looking the microsoft examples and another posts trying to do some redirections like me I arrived to the conclusion that I should use STATUS_REPARSE. Is this the correct approach or should I use a different method?

Actually I know it works for the IRP_MJ_CREATE, but will it work with write and delete operations or should I use a different method?

Thank you for any help.

I’m new to driver and windows programming
Two learning cliffs for the price of one. Three if you include Windows File systems as being as complicated again as windows device drivers. Good luck.

Actually I know it works for the IRP_MJ_CREATE, but will it work with write and delete operations or should I use a different method?

Once the file has been opened that’s it. The read/write/delete operations go to the file object and it doesn’t care what the name is.

Which is the right way to go? Without knowing your requirements in detail we cannot say, but for a first project doing reparse is relatively easy approach.

Amongst the many issues you will have will be that the name of the file object will now be d:\dir\foo.txt. So (for instance) if this file contains a virus the AV will complain about the virus on d:\dir\foo.txt and the user (who opened the file) c:\tmp\foo.txt might get confused.

Off the top of my head renames and relative opens are other things to worry about.

• c:\> move c:\tmp\foo.txt c:\usersjkrian\desktop\krian.txt will fail which might make people surprised
  • An open of tmp\foo\txt relative to a HANDLE opened to c:\ might not give you d:\dir\foo.txt