How to develop the GPIO dirver on Win10?

Dear All,

The aim of our project is to access Processor GPIO pins and read/write its high/low. Our OS is Windows10 IoT, and Processor is Intel Atom.
We only have some experience with filter driver and filesystem driver, but no experience with hareware driver development.

Since I am a beginner of hardware driver, I thought the effective way is learning from Microsoft’s ducuoment and sample codes.
I have gone through the following and related links,
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/gpio/gpio-driver-support-overview
Then I know a GPIO controller drivers and a peripheral device driver are requied to be done.

I built the GPIO sample drivers provided by Microsoft: https://github.com/Microsoft/Windows-driver-samples/tree/master/gpio/samples
And I installed the sample GPIO controller driver “simgpio” by “devcon install simgpio.inf ACPI\TEST0001”.
However, the driver wasn’t loaded successfully. In the callback function SimGpioEvtDeviceAdd, GPIO_CLX_ProcessAddDevicePreDeviceCreate returned the error code STATUS_INVALID_DEVICE_REQUEST.

After that, I found a GPIO controller driver from Intel(iagpio.sys) was already in Windows. Then I tried to start it manually by command line “sc start iagpio”.
It failed, and an error message was found in windows system event log: “The Intel Serial IO GPIO Controller Driver service depends on the following service: GPIOClx. This service might not be installed.
So I listed dirvers already loaded by WinObj, msgpioclx.sys wasn’t there. I thought the GpioClx(msgpioclx.sys) would be pre-loaded, but not really.

We are totally blocked. We had originally planned to begin learning with sample. But the only sample for GPIO didn’t work, it is really despairing for a beginner.
I think we lack of basic knowledge of hardware dirver:
How can OS load a proper driver for an hardware?
When the GpioClx would be loaded?