Possible to use WinUSB as parent driver for a composite device?

Hi, this is my first time posting here. After googling a lot to try and get an answer, i found this list.

I am making a custom usb device that is currently using usbccgp.sys parent driver. It has 2 interfaces, one for audio using the generic audio driver and one for serial using usbser. Currently both interfaces work as intended. But I would like to use WinUSB because I am programming a companion chrome app which only works with WinUSB. Currently, with the usbccgp.sys driver, I cannot even see my device listed when i have chrome search for available/usable devices.I would like to use the WinUSB driver for the main device (control endpoint i think would be the right term) but when i assign that driver (using zadig) i lose my interfaces in device manager. So i had a couple of questions:

1. Do i have to make a custom INF file that states WinUSB for the main device, then generic audio for the audio interface and usbser for the serial interface?

2. Can a device even have WinUSB as the parent driver with 2 other drivers for its interfaces?

3. I have never written an INF file for drivers before but i have found a few that i can use as resources. Any suggestions where i can look up keywords used in an INF and find their meanings?

I hope these questions are on topic. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards.

Hi,

It is tricky but I’ll try.

There are three types of device objects

• PDO(Physical device object)
  • FDO(Functional Device Object)
  • FiDO(Filter Device Object)

PDOs are created by a bus driver that acts as functional driver for a bus. In your case the device has a “virtual bus” to which two devices are connected - audio and serial.

USBCCGP creates FDO for a whole device(main device) and creates PDOs for each interface, they are related by BusRelation property. If you query FDO by IRP_MN_QUERY_DEVICE_RELATIONS request an array of PDOs is returned (two PDOs for your device).