Windows System Software -- Consulting, Training, Development -- Unique Expertise, Guaranteed Results

Home NTDEV

Before Posting...

Please check out the Community Guidelines in the Announcements and Administration Category.

More Info on Driver Writing and Debugging

The free OSR Learning Library has more than 50 articles on a wide variety of topics about writing and debugging device drivers and Minifilters. From introductory level to advanced. All the articles have been recently reviewed and updated, and are written using the clear and definitive style you've come to expect from OSR over the years.

Check out The OSR Learning Library at: https://www.osr.com/osr-learning-library/

Create umdf firmware update

abdouabdou Member Posts: 8
hello everyone,
I read your comments about umdf, you are very expert in the field,
for that I decided to register in this site to learn from you, I am a beginner in WDF, I would like create a driver that sends specific commands to the device, for example a command that retrieves the firmware version, if someone could help me with a project as template, I would be very grateful. thank you in advance

Comments

• Tim_RobertsTim_Roberts Member - All Emails Posts: 14,405

What device? What bus? Does it already have a driver? Are you sure it has a command to fetch the firmware version?

Tim Roberts, [email protected]
    Providenza & Boekelheide, Inc.

• abdouabdou Member Posts: 8
    to be sincere, for the device I don't know what it is, but I know that it is based on USB HID, I have the commands to enter, for example to retrieve the version of the device, but for create method that use this command in UMDF i don't know manipulated the wdf , i read in forums i had to use filewrite and fileread .