Create umdf firmware update

hello everyone, I read your comments about umdf, you are very expert in the field, for that I decided to register in this site to learn from you, I am a beginner in WDF, I would like create a driver that sends specific commands to the device, for example a command that retrieves the firmware version, if someone could help me with a project as template, I would be very grateful. thank you in advance

What device? What bus? Does it already have a driver? Are you sure it has a command to fetch the firmware version?

to be sincere, for the device I don’t know what it is, but I know that it is based on USB HID, I have the commands to enter, for example to retrieve the version of the device, but for create method that use this command in UMDF i don’t know manipulated the wdf , i read in forums i had to use filewrite and fileread . Also I found this page https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/install/updating-device-firmware-using-windows-update , it contains what I want to do, but there is no code. My main problem is that the documentation is almost nowhere to be found, for what I hope found solution here. Thnks for your concern ?.

You don’t know what it is??? I don’t understand what environment you would be in where you need to access a devices firmware version and not know what it is. Are you hacking something here?

The page you linked just shows how you get hooked in to the standard Windows Update mechanism. There’s no general advice on how to update firmware because every device is different.

If you don’t know what the device is, then you are clearly not the manufacturer of the device. It already has a driver, so you can’t just insert your own. You said you already have “commands” to fetch the version. What do they look like? If they are HID commands, then you can open the device using the HID libraries and talk to it normally, with no driver involved.